President's Corner

BayBio Institute Strengthens Support for Industry Needs

I am pleased to announce that, effective January 1, 2012, Lori Lindburg has been appointed as the Executive Director of the BayBio Institute, replacing my executive role in the BayBio Institute.  I will remain as President and CEO of the BayBio Association and will continue to serve on the Board of the BayBio Institute.

Lori brings over ten years of non-profit management experience to her role and, over the last two and a half years at BBI, has demonstrated passion and commitment to supporting our life science community.  During her tenure she has launched the BayBio Fellows and Expert Network for entrepreneurs, and to involve industry professionals in STEM education. Last year, she worked with CBS to produce an “Eye on the Bay” segment that highlighted the life science industry’s contributions to California’s economic and workforce development, and oversaw the first Bay Area BioGENEius Challenge, a science competition for outstanding local high school students. Lori also co-developed the first statewide industrial biotech hiring trends survey, is currently planning a student-staffed CRO to provide hands-on workforce and entrepreneurial training, and continues to work with partners to provide a broad portfolio of professional development offerings.  Her leadership will further our efforts to strengthen the foundations of innovation for our industry – support for early-stage companies, life sciences education and career development.

Additionally, we have transitioned the Institute Board of Directors to a smaller Board of Trustees and have established an Advisory Board comprised of industry thought leaders and innovators.

Heather Mason, President of Abbott Diabetes Care, will chair the Board of Trustees. BayBio founder Fred Dorey will remain as secretary and BPM’s Scott Taylor will become treasurer. California State University’s Susan Baxter, Bayer’s Terry Hermiston and Amgen’s Sandra Young will join me as the remaining Trustees.

The creation of an Institute Advisory Board will allow us to tap into the expertise and thought leadership that is so abundant in the state. Initial members of the Advisory Board include Michael Alvarez, Douglas Crawford, Moira Gunn, Jerry Iwata, Elaine Johnson, Nola Masterson, Jeffrey Peterson, Steve Sawyer, and Nandini Tandon. Over time, BayBio Institute expects to expand the Advisory Board to include other luminaries and persons of influence.

We owe a special thank you to the BayBio Institute Board Directors who have provided dedicated support to the organization throughout the years.

During these critical times, we look forward to continuing our important work to support the foundations of life sciences innovation in our region under the leadership of Ms. Lindburg and the Institute Boards.