Board Member


Rick E. Winningham

Rick E Winningham has served as Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Theravance Biopharma since its spin-off from Theravance, Inc. in June 2014. From October 2001 to August 2014, Mr. Winningham served as Chief Executive Officer of Theravance, Inc., where he also served as Chairman of the Board of Directors from April 2010 to October 2014. Prior to joining Theravance, Inc., he served as President, Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) Oncology/Immunology/Oncology Therapeutics Network (OTN) from 1997 to 2001, and also as President of Global Marketing from 2000 to 2001. In addition to operating responsibility for U.S. Oncology/Immunology/OTN, Mr. Winningham also had full responsibility for Global Marketing in the Cardiovascular, Infectious Disease, Immunology, Oncology/Metabolics and GU/GI/Neuroscience therapeutic areas. Over a fifteen-year period with BMS and its predecessor, Bristol-Myers, Mr. Winningham held various U.S. and global management positions. During his tenure with BMS, he was associated with the development and commercialization of several major pharmaceutical products, such as Taxol®, Paraplatin®, Zerit®, Videx®, Reyataz®, and Abilify®.

Mr. Winningham holds an M.B.A. from Texas Christian University and a B.S. from Southern Illinois University. He is a Director on the Board of the California Life Sciences Association (CLSA).  Previously, Mr. Winningham served as a Director on the Board of the California Healthcare Institute (CHI) from November 2011 to March 2015.  He was elected Chairman of CHI in January 2014, a position he held until CHI merged with BayBio to become CLSA in March 2015.  Mr. Winningham was subsequently elected to the role of Chairman of CLSA in March 2015.  He stepped down from the position in November 2015.  He is a member of the Board of Directors of Jazz Pharmaceuticals, and a member of the Board of Directors of OncoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Mr. Winningham is also a past member of Biotechnology Industry Organization’s Board of Directors and served on the Health Section Governing Board Standing Committee on Reimbursement.