ADVOCATE. CONNECT. INNOVATE.

CLSA Wire

Safe Harbor Guidance: What’s Next For Companies?
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

Original article featured on: http://www.squirepattonboggs.com/

October 2015

The recent Safe Harbor decision by the European Court of Justice means that companies should put in place the EU Model Clauses between the relevant data exporters and data importers, prioritising key transfers first (unless and until the Article 29 Working Party or the relevant national Data Protection Authority issues different advice). Companies should also take a serious look at their data practices generally and consider a number of  key questions to minimize their compliance risks.

Attached is a quick reference guide to help you understand the decision, its consequences and what steps you should take now.

Reference Guide

For any queries, please contact:

Belgium

Anthony Van der Hauwaert
anthony.vanderhauwaert@squirepb.com

Czech Republic

Hana Gawlasova
hana.gawlasova@squirepb.com

France

Stephanie Faber
stephanie.faber@squirepb.com

Germany

Annette Demmel
annette.demmel@squirepb.com

Andreas Fillmann
andreas.fillmann@squirepb.com

Hungary

Akos Eros
akos.eros@squirepb.com

Poland

Ewelina Witek
ewelina.witek@squirepb.com

Slovak Republic

Tatiana Prokopova
tatiana.prokopova@squirepb.com

Spain

Fernando Gonzalez
fernando.gonzalez@squirepb.com

UK

Ann J. LaFrance
ann.lafrance@squirepb.com

Mark Gleeson
mark.gleeson@squirepb.com

Caroline H. Egan
caroline.egan@squirepb.com

Francesca A. Fellowes
francesca.fellowes@squirepb.com

US

Philip R. Zender
philip.zender@squirepb.com

Paul C. Besozzi
paul.besozzi@squirepb.com

Mark D. Johnson
mark.johnson@squirepb.com

Disclaimer: The contents of this update are not intended to serve as legal advice related to individual situations or as legal opinions concerning such situations. Counsel should be consulted for legal planning and advice.