University of California

Organization Address
1111 Franklin St
Oakland, CA 94607-5201

Organization Phone
(415) 463-8130


Academic/Research Organizations

University/Research: Multi-Campus

Organization Description
The University of California was chartered as the state’s only land grant college in 1868. Today, the University of California includes ten campuses: Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Diego, San Francisco, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz and Merced. Among the campuses there are five medical schools, three law schools, and the state’s only school of veterinary medicine, as well as schools of business administration, education, engineering, oceanography, and many others. UC San Francisco, which is the only UC campus devoted to health sciences, is developing a new health sciences campus at Mission Bay in San Francisco. It will be a new 43-acre teaching and research campus that will draw basic scientists working in new programs in human genetics, brain development and advanced technology. UC’s libraries are among the finest in the nation; its collections are surpassed in size on the American continent only by the Library of Congress collection. UC has a total of 43 Nobel laureates and more than 300 members of the National Academy of Sciences, greater than any other college or university. UC maintains a variety of research facilities, agricultural field stations and extension centers in more than 100 locations throughout California. Under contract with the U.S. Department of Energy, the University manages three national research facilities: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory adjoining the Berkeley campus; Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, CA.; and Los Alamos National Laboratory in N.M. Under the state constitution, the governance of the University of California is entrusted to the Board of Regents. The board consists of 26 members: 18 are appointed by the governor to 12-year terms and confirmed by the state senate; one is a student regent appointed by regents to a one-year term; and seven are ex officio members including the governor, lieutenant governor, speaker of the Assembly and president of the University. Regents appoint the president, and with the president’s advice, the officers of the University. The University has five health sciences centers located strategically throughout the state: Sacramento/Davis, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Irvine and San Diego. UC’s health service centers include five schools of medicine, two dentistry schools, two nursing schools, two public health schools, a school of optometry and a school of pharmacy. The University of California operates the largest health sciences and medical training program with an annual enrollment of more than 12,000 students. The instructional program is conducted in 14 health sciences schools on six campuses. UC medical schools, which educate about 2,600 medical students a year or nearly two-thirds of California’s total each year, play a leading role in the development of health services and advancement of medical science and research.