21st Century Cures Act Passes House & Senate, Signed into Law by President Obama

Dec. 22, 2016

After over two years of work, the 21st Century Cures Act passed both the House and Senate with overwhelming bipartisan support just ahead of the close of the 114th Congress. The bill was approved by the House on Nov. 30 with a vote of 392 to 26 and sailed to passage in the Senate with a vote of 94 to 5. President Obama signed the bill into law on Dec. 13.

Since the announcement of the initiative by Chairman Fred Upton (R-Mich.) of the House Energy & Commerce Committee, CLSA worked to garner support for the innovative reforms contained in the bill. The 21st Century Cures Act focuses on patient-centered reforms that will help propel research, investment and innovation in the life sciences ecosystem. CLSA is particularly proud to have advocated for provisions included in the bill that make a significant investment in federal agencies conducting biomedical research, reauthorize the rare pediatric disease (RPD) priority review voucher (PRV) program, reduce administrative burdens for NIH researchers and enhance the NIH granting process, establish a priority review program at FDA for breakthrough medical devices technologies, bolster our nation’s biodefense and pandemic preparedness enterprise, improve FDA regulatory processes, and advance precision medicine.

As a result of CLSA advocacy, 53 of the 55 members of the California delegation voted in favor of the legislation, including: Senators Barbara Boxer (D) and Dianne Feinstein (D); and Representatives Pete Aguilar (D-Redlands), Rep. Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles), Rep. Xavier Becerra, (D-Los Angeles), Rep. Ami Bera (D-Sacramento), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-Thousand Oaks), Rep. Ken Calvert (R-Corona), Rep. Lois Capps (D-Santa Barbara), Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-Van Nuys), Rep. Judy Chu (D-Pasadena), Rep. Paul Cook (R-Apple Valley), Rep. Jim Costa D-Fresno), Rep. Susan Davis (D-San Diego), Rep. Jeff Denham (R-Modesto), Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-Richmond), Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-Palo Alto), Rep. Sam Farr (D-Santa Cruz), Rep. John Garamendi (D-Davis), Rep. Mike Honda (D-Santa Clara), Rep. Jared Huffman (D- Eureka), Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-Temecula), Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Vista), Rep. Steve Knight (R-Simi Valley), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-Redding), Rep. Ted Lieu (D-Beverly Hills), Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-San Jose), Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-Sacramento), Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield), Rep. Tom McClintock (R-Roseville), Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-Stockton), Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-El Monte), Rep. Devin Nunes (R-Clovis), Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-San Francisco), Rep. Scott Peters (D-La Jolla), Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-Huntington Beach), Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Commerce), Rep. Ed Royce (R-Brea), Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-Palm Desert), Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-Garden Grove), Rep. Linda Sánchez (D-Cerritos), Rep. Adam Schiff (D-Burbank), Rep. Brad Sherman (D-Sherman Oaks), Rep. Jackie Speier (D-Menlo Park), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-Pleasanton), Rep. Mark Takano (D-Riverside), Rep. Mike Thompson (D-Napa), Rep. Norma Torres (D-Pomona), Rep. David Valadao (R-Bakersfield), Rep. Juan Vargas (D-Chula Vista), Rep. Mimi Walters (R-Irvine) and Rep. Maxine Waters (D- Los Angeles). The only member of the California Congressional Delegation to vote NO was Rep. Barbara Lee (D-Oakland), and retiring Rep. Janice Hahn (D-Los Angeles) did not vote.

As additional resources, please see CLSA’s analysis of the final legislation and our press releases lauding House passage and Senate passage. Questions? Please contact Meghan Drenan, CLSA’s Associate Director, Federal Government Relations (