California Delegation Makes Strong Showing as House Votes to Repeal Medical Device Tax

June 23, 2015

On June 18, H.R. 160, the Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2015, was passed by the House of Representatives by a veto-proof majority vote of 280 to 140. The legislation now moves to the Senate for consideration.

In the months leading up to the vote, CLSA actively engaged with members of the California delegation, encouraging them to cosponsor and vote in favor of the legislation. CLSA is pleased to report that all of our delegation’s cosponsors of H.R. 160 voted in support of the bill. An additional three Democratic members (Reps. Lieu, McNerney, and Loretta Sanchez) and House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy also voted in favor of the measure.

The 27 bipartisan members of the California delegation who voted in favor of a permanent repeal of the medical device excise tax are: Reps. Pete Aguilar (D-Redlands); Ami Bera (D-Sacramento); Julia Brownley (D-Thousand Oaks); Ken Calvert (R-Corona); Tony C√°rdenas (D-Van Nuys); Paul Cook (R-Apple Valley); Susan Davis (D-San Diego); Jeff Denham (R-Modesto); Duncan Hunter (R-El Cajon); Darrell Issa (R-Vista); Steve Knight (R-Simi Valley); Ted Lieu (D-Los Angeles); Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield); Tom McClintock (R-Roseville); Jerry McNerney (D-Stockton); Devin Nunes (R-Clovis); Scott Peters (D-San Diego); Dana Rohrabacher (R-Huntington Beach); Ed Royce (R-Brea); Raul Ruiz (D-Palm Desert); Loretta Sanchez (D-Garden Grove); Jackie Speier (D-Menlo Park); Eric Swalwell (D-Pleasanton); Norma Torres (D-Pomona); David Valadao (R-Bakersfield); Juan Vargas (D-Chula Vista); and Mimi Walters (R-Irvine).

CLSA’s statement lauding the vote on H.R. 160 is available here.