CLSA Applauds House Approval of H.R. 6, the 21st Century Cures Act

July 11, 2015

On July 10, the House of Representatives passed a top CLSA priority, H.R. 6, the 21st Century Cures Act, by a vote of 344 to 77. This legislation is aimed at accelerating the pace of biomedical innovation and cures by modernizing federal research and regulatory policies.

The bill contains a number of provisions supported and advocated by CLSA, including the FDA Safety Over Sequestration Act, to protect FDA user fees from sequestration; the DISARM Act, to provide additional incentives to spur antibiotic development; direct hiring authority for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA); new dedicated funding resources for FDA regulatory modification; and a number of provisions related to the “discovery” element of the initiative that were based on or reflected a number of the proposals we recommended in formal comments to the committee last fall, including new mandatory funding for the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Voting in support of passage were 43 members of our California congressional delegation:

Reps. Pete Aguilar (D- Redlands); Xavier Becerra (D-Los Angeles); Ami Bera (D-Sacramento); Julia Brownley (D-Thousand Oaks); Ken Calvert (R-Corona);  Lois Capps (D-Santa Barbara); Tony Cardenas (D-Van Nuys); Judy Chu (D-Pasadena); Paul Cook (R-Yucca Valley); Jim Costa (D-Fresno); Susan Davis (D-San Diego); Jeff Denham (R-Atwater); John Garamendi (D-Davis); Janice Hahn (D-Carson); Mike Honda (D-Santa Clara); Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael); Duncan Hunter (R-El Cajon); Steve Knight (R-Palmdale); Doug LaMalfa (R-Redding); Ted Lieu (D-Santa Monica); Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach); Doris Matsui (D-Sacramento); Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield); Jerry McNerney (D-Stockton); Grace Napolitano (D-El Monte); Devin Nunes (R-Visalia);  Nancy Pelosi (D-San Francisco); Scott Peters (D-La Jolla); Dana Rohrabacher (R-Laguna Beach); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Commerce); Ed Royce (R-Brea); Raul Ruiz (D-Palm Desert); Linda Sanchez (D Cerritos);  Adam Schiff (D-Burbank); Brad Sherman (D-Sherman Oaks); Eric Swalwell (D-Dublin); Mark Takano (D-Riverside); Mike Thompson (D-Napa); Norma Torres (D-Ontario); David Valadao (R-Hanford); Juan Vargas (D-Chula Vista); Mimi Walters (R-Irvine); and Maxine Waters (D-Los Angeles).

Click here to view CLSA’s statement applauding passage of the 21st Century Cures Act.