CLSA Hosts Annual D.C. Reception and Welcome Dinner for California Congressional Delegation

June 9, 2015

On May 13, members of CLSA’s board of directors spent a full day on Capitol Hill meeting with key legislators on issues of importance to California’s biomedical innovation ecosystem, including: House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield), Reps. Xavier Becerra (D-Los Angeles), Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-Silicon Valley), Doris Matsui (D-Sacramento), Devin Nunes (R-Clovis), Jackie Speier (D-San Mateo/South San Francisco), Eric Swalwell (D-Dublin), David Valadao (R-Hanford), Mimi Walters (R-Laguna Nigel) and Erik Paulsen (R-Minn). Meetings were also held with a panel of bipartisan Senate Health Education Labor & Pensions (HELP) Committee senior staff. In addition, roundtable discussion was held with members of the New Democrat Coalition, including: Reps. Ami Bera (D-Elk Grove), Tony C√°rdenas (D-Los Angeles), Susan Davis (D-San Diego), Scott Peters (D-San Diego), and Loretta Sanchez (D-Garden Grove).

Issues addressed in the meetings included: the importance of a patent system that preserves the ability for biomedical innovators to enforce their patents; our support for the House and Senate “innovation” initiatives (e.g. 21st Century Cures); predictable and sustained NIH funding for basic research; the importance of a transparent and predictable FDA regulatory environment, including protecting precious FDA user fees from sequestration; the need for a full repeal of the medical device tax; and how public and private insurers can better value medical innovation through coverage and payment policies.

That evening, CLSA hosted its spring reception at Folger Shakespeare Library on Capitol Hill. This event annually attracts a wide range of government officials, legislators, staff and biomedical industry leaders in an informal setting to meet and discuss the importance of biomedical innovation and scientific advancement in California and globally. This year, the reception also marked the official public launch of our new integrated organization as CLSA.

More than 150 guests attended the public reception, including several members of the California delegation: Reps. Pete Aguilar (D-Fontana), Steve Knight (R-Palmdale), Doug LaMalfa (R-Richvale), Scott Peters (D-San Diego), Jackie Speier Speier (D-San Mateo/South San Francisco), Norma Torres (D-Pomona), and Mimi Walters (R-Laguna Niguel), as well as legislative staff from numerous congressional, leadership and committee offices, including the House Committees on Energy & Commerce, Ways & Means, Appropriations, and Judiciary, and the Senate Committees on Appropriations, Finance, Judiciary, and Health, Education, Labor & Pensions (HELP).