House to Vote on Medical Device Tax Repeal Before July 4th Recess

June 3, 2015

On June 2, H.R. 160, the Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2015, was marked-up and passed by the House Ways and Means Committee by a vote of 25-14. All of the Republican members of the panel and Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wisc.) voted in support. Several Democratic members, including California Reps. Xavier Becerra (D-Los Angeles) and Mike Thompson (D-St. Helena), expressed support for the underlying policy of repeal, but noted the lack of an offset as the primary driver for their “no” vote.

House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield) has announced his intention to bring the legislation to a full vote during the week of June 15. The bill currently has 281 bipartisan cosponsors, including 24 members of the California Congressional Delegation – 11 Democrats: Reps. Aguilar (D-Fontana), Bera (D-Sacramento), Brownley (D-Westlake Village), C√°rdenas (D-Los Angeles), Davis (D-San Diego), Peters (D-San Diego), Ruiz (D-Palm Desert), Speier (D–Hillsborough), Swalwell (D-Dublin), Torres (D-Pomona), and Vargas (D-San Diego) and 13 Republicans Reps. Calvert (R-Corona), Cook (R-Yucca Valley), Denham (R-Atwater), Hunter (R-San Diego), Issa (R-San Diego), Knight (R-Palmdale), LaMalfa (R–Richvale), McClintock (R-Elk Grove), Nunes (R–Tulare), Rohrabacher (R–Costa Mesa), Royce (R–Fullerton), Valadao (R–Hanford), and Walters (R–Laguna Niguel).

Medical device tax repeal bills have previously passed the House three times without becoming law, but this year has seen a gain in momentum, due to a companion Senate bill and an increase in Democratic support in both houses. CLSA is actively encouraging our delegation members to support the bill in advance of the floor vote next week.