Over 45 Legislators attend CLSA’s Back to Session Reception in Sacramento

Feb. 9, 2016

On Feb. 3, CLSA celebrated the value of medical innovation with state public policy and industry leaders in California’s life sciences sector. More than 45 legislators from both the California Senate and Assembly, legislative staff, life sciences industry executives, academic leaders and the patient community attended the Back to Session Reception in Sacramento. CLSA President and CEO, Sara Radcliffe, kicked-off the evening by providing an update on the state of the life sciences industry in California and discussing the importance of there being legislators who are willing to fight for innovation.

The evening was dedicated to CLSA’s mission and efforts to strengthen relationships between policy makers and life sciences industry leaders. CLSA recognized four key state legislators for their thoughtful leadership and dedication to advancing biotechnology, biomedical science, pharmaceutical and medical device innovation in California in 2015.

BTAThis year, CLSA presented Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), Assembly Speaker pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco), and Assembly Republican Floor Leader Marie Waldron (R-Escondido) with the “2015 Life Sciences Champion Award” for their leadership in strengthening and promoting California’s life sciences sector.

Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) was also presented with CLSA’s “2015 Lifetime Achievement Award” for her years of dedication to public service, in which she was a consistent supporter of California’s life sciences innovators.

“California is the birthplace of biotechnology and today the state’s life sciences sector employs over 281,000 people working to develop more than 1,200 new innovative medicines and technologies. Thanks in part to the commitment of this year’s honorees, innovators up and down the state are better equipped to continue the challenging work of bringing needed therapies to treat and cure patients,” said CLSA President and CEO Sara Radcliffe. “The leadership and guidance that Assembly Speaker Atkins, Senator Galgiani and Assemblymembers Mullin and Waldron each bring to the table has been instrumental in nurturing our treasured life sciences sector. We thank them for their dedication to advancing sound public policy that spurs life sciences innovation, leading to a healthier population in California and around the world.”

“The life sciences industry is already one of the biggest contributors to San Diego’s economy, and the entire state’s as a whole. Because of the sector’s impressive growth, I am confident that California will play a lead role in finding cures for some of our most challenging diseases,” Assembly Speaker Atkins said. “I’m honored to be recognized by CLSA and I look forward to helping to ensure the progress of life sciences innovators in our region and state for many years to come. I also want to thank the association for its leadership in promoting the state’s life sciences economy.”

Click here to view CLSA’s press release announcing the awardees.